If you have decided to do construction work in Maine, you will need Maine Contractor License. Usually, the general contractor licenses are issued at the local level. In Maine, however, those who want to work as plumbers, electricians, handymen, etc. need to get a license at the state level.
In fact, as we have mentioned general contractors don’t need to pass a state licensure process. However, both general contractors and specialty contractors need to register their business. All the contractors need as well to get liability insurance. The liability insurance is good for both the client and the contractor. It is a kind of insurance that they will cooperate and work till the end.
Maine state requires contractors to have a written contract for all house building and home renovation projects which total cost is more than $3,000. In this case, the contractors can only get one-third of the total amount before they start the project.
Whenever you decide to start your career as a contractor in Mine, the first thing will be to determine the total cost of your work. In fact, this criteria works for mainly all the U.S states.
Everyone whose works costs more than 3000 dollars should apply for licensure in Maine. This includes all the contracting work such as plumbing, electricity, general repair, etc.
General Contractors have to pass a little different process as their license is issued at the state level. That means that their county has its own requirements and laws.
However, some criteria are of course the same for all the contractors:
You will have to get an insurance certificate as well if you want to work without any risks.
As you know, Maine doesn’t require you to get a license from the state. However, if you want your company to grow bigger and earn more you can apply for a state-level general contractor license.
The requirements, of course, are set by your local office and you need to check if it is convenient for you.
As we have mentioned above some professionals need to get a state-level license in order to work legally and without cost limits. In case you want to work as an electrician, you will need to choose what type of electrician you want to be. So here are the main electrician subgroups you can apply for:
All these licensure processes enable you to work as an electrician, however, they need different levels of experience and education.
When you are ready to apply for Maine Electrician License you can either apply online or visit the Maine Electricians’ Examining Board.
If you’re a plumber and need to work legally in Maine, you will need to apply and get one of the plumbers’ licenses in Maine.
Maine offers you the following types of plumber licenses։
Each license, such as that of an electrician, comes with its own set of responsibilities and requirements. So you need to check it with your county as well.
Every type of Maine Contractor License, no matter it is an electrician, plumber, roofing, will cost $45 to fill out the single application form. Even if you have decided to apply for several types of contractor licenses at the same time you will not need to pay any extra fees.
The licensure fee is annual, that is every year after you get the license you will have to pay $45.
In Maine, you need to renew your license every year. You don’t need to worry to remember the expiration date. You will get a notification whenever your license expiration day is near. After you get the notification, you will need to provide your Maine ID and business registration documents. Of course, you will also need to pay the renewal fee.
The fee varies from jurisdiction to jurisdiction. The average amount, however. is $45.