Search and verify licenses
Sample Maine Tattoo License

Maine Tattoo License

If you want to practice as a tattoo artist, you will need to acquire a Maine tattoo license. Of course, this is not a law everywhere. There are some states that don’t have statewide rules for this. However, Maine requires that all body art practitioners have proper certification.

Training

Naturally, your first step should be getting the appropriate education. This is essential for acquiring authorization to practice as a body artist. There are many qualified schools in the state that can provide good training for you. Usually, the classes include different elements that makeup tattooing.

General requirements

Despite local differences, there are some general rules that everyone should follow. These mainly concern the cleanliness and safety of the facility. You are expected to make sure that the facility is meeting all the sanitary standards. also, you must be sure your clients are above 18 years of age.

It is your responsibility to do the job skillfully and carefully. At the end of the procedure, you should provide your client with aftercare information.

Keeping these general principles in mind, you should start making it all official.

If you want to learn about the requirements of a California tattoo license, you can check this article.

How to apply?

To receive the permit, you ought to submit several documents along with a completed form. The application requires you to provide the following:

  • Applicant’s name
  • Home and mailing address
  • Proof of attendance (department-approved bloodborne pathogen training program within the last three years)
  • A description of the applicant’s experience and schooling
  • Any certificate or diploma from the learning program
  • A copy of a water test

Inspection

After you submit the papers, your district health inspector will contact you. The two of you set up a pre-operational inspection. Usually, within 30 days after receiving a complete application, the district inspector gives their approval. Once the inspector approves, within a week, a license is issued.

Note that you cannot operate in your workplace before getting the approval.

Renewal

In the case of any authorization, there is always a need to refresh it. To renew it, you have to upload or fax 207-287-3165 a Bloodborne pathogen certificate. This form is good for three years. After that, you must get a new one.

Transferability

Health Inspection Program licenses are not transferable. So, if you wish to practice in another jurisdiction, you must acquire a new one. As each state has its own rules and requirements, you may need to meet different requirements to qualify.

Fees

You have to pay $250 for the license. Apart from the main fee, there are also additional fees. These may or may not be applicable in your case. Here are the costs according to the service:

  • Transfer – $50
  • Authorization reprint – $25
  • Late renewal (within 30 days of the expiration date) – $25
  • Late renewal (after a month of the expiration date) – $125

For more information

To learn more, you should refer to your local regulatory body. On the official website of your health department, you can also find the online application form that you should fill out and submit.

Anna A

Anna is an enthusiastic writer just starting out in the industry. She is studying English and Communications at AUA, where she learns about various genres and styles of writing. Writing is Anna’s passion as it enables her to express herself creatively. She loves how content writing allows her to make the information simple and available for a wide range of people. While trying to make information accessible for everyone, she enjoys the process of exploring the topics she writes about. She hopes to sharpen her writing skills and become very successful in the industry.